Breathe (Breathe #1) by Sarah Crossan: Book Review

breatheTitle: Breathe (Breathe #1)

Author: Sarah Crossan

Started Date:  November 4, 2013

Finished Date:  November 4, 2013

Rating: 5/5 stars

 

Summary from Goodreads:

“The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can’t? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan’s gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.

Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina’s a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn’s a Premium who’s never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who’s never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything. Sarah Crossan’s thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time.”

MY THOUGHTS.

Incredible. It is truly amazing! I love it!

I started this book hours ago and I got hooked. I finished it one sitting and all I can say is it’s a worth read, definitely a good dystopian one.

A world without air would definitely suck, right? I love trees, I studied them when I was in college and imagining a world without them is a horror. I love how the book made us realize that it’s possible to happen and it tells us to be protective of the nature. I love all the characters – Quinn, Bea and Alina. I think it is quite hard to write in three different point of views and it is also hard to read, but this one is not. They are easy to distinguish from each other. I love how the story went on, from knowing the characters first, knowing the world they’re living and how they wanted to be free…

Free to breathe.

I’m looking forward to the next one. 😉

 

xoxo,

 

 

5 thoughts on “Breathe (Breathe #1) by Sarah Crossan: Book Review

  1. I must say that this book looks pretty awesome.
    I love trees, too, and the thought of a world without them is horrible! D:
    Sometimes it’s hard to read a book with multiple points of view, but I’m glad this one pulled it off.
    I’m so very keen to read this novel after this review 😀

Leave a comment