Divergent by Veronica Roth: A Book Review

I finished reading Divergent this lazy afternoon. For me, this book deserves 4.4 stars, the remaining 0.6 due to its resemblance to Hunger Games. I just couldn’t stop thinking about HG while reading it, but usually, I’m not the kind who compare books. I feel like I’m reading a separate story in a Hunger Games setting. Also, I’ve read it for one week which doesn’t usually happen. I love Hunger games but I don’t feel the same way with this book. I didn’t feel any emotion while reading it, just plain curiosity to finish it. But I admit, I liked it, especially because of Four. And I hate it when Al died, I thought he might also be one of Beatrice’s options. Al is special for me, and its hard to know that he committed suicide. I also hated it when her mother and father also died. I have this feeling that the author wanted us to feel the sympathy so we could like the book… well, it’s effective. 😉 The protagonist is also not likable, with no impact to me. Overall, the book is well written and engrossing. The author has chosen the right factions or values that should be emphasize and she has described them well, especially the symbols that she illustrated. They keep me thinking about the specific initiation, simulations and tests in each faction. And I wish that the author has also explained them, or maybe do it in the next book.

4 thoughts on “Divergent by Veronica Roth: A Book Review

  1. Hi folks, – stumbled upon your web-site unintentionally while roaming round the internet this evening, and delighted that i did! I do like the page layout and tones, but I have to mention that I’m having issues when it loads. I’m using Lynxlet 7.1 internet browser for mac, and the menu block doesn’t line up correctly. i am pretty sure I’ve used the same design on a customer’s online site, but the menu seems fine on mine. I suspect the fault is with my browser & maybe it is time to change for a better one!

Leave a Reply

