Evernight by Claudia Gray: A book review

Summary from Goodreads:

Bianca wants to escape.

She’s been uprooted from her small hometown and enrolled at Evernight Academy, an eerie Gothic boarding school where the students are somehow too perfect: smart, sleek, and almost predatory. Bianca knows she doesn’t fit in.

Then she meets Lucas. He’s not the “Evernight type” either, and he likes it that way. Lucas ignores the rules, stands up to the snobs, and warns Bianca to be careful—even when it comes to caring about him.

“I couldn’t stand it if they took it out on you,” he tells Bianca, “and eventually they would.” 

But the connection between Bianca and Lucas can’t be denied. Bianca will risk anything to be with Lucas, but dark secrets are fated to tear them apart . . . and to make Bianca question everything she’s ever believed.”

My Review:

I gave it 4 stars in Goodreads which means I “really liked” it.

To my amazement, I indeed enjoyed reading this book since I had a low expectation with it when I read the reviews. I’m also not really into vampires because I did not enjoy the Twilight books, but I liked the movies though because of Jacob. First reaction with the book, Bianca as the protagonist, has low esteem. She believes that she’s ugly, not smart, doesn’t know about fashion, and that she doesn’t fit in the school. It started with all her insecurities when she tried to escape the school. That’s the time when she met Lucas.

I was shocked when I learned that Bianca is a vampire and she knew it all along. I thought she’s a normal school girl because of her insecurities and complaints about how to belong. I liked the part when she came with Lucas to escape when she learned that Lucas is a member of Black Cross, a group who kills the vampires. It seems that this book is a vampire version of a Romeo-Juliet love story or a might-have-been romance of Bella and Jacob, just think of Bella as a vampire and Jacob as a human slayer of vampires.

Well, I liked the book. But that doesn’t mean that I’m eager enough to read the sequel. I think it is okay to end it there. But I might read the second book if the opportunity will come this year. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Evernight by Claudia Gray: A book review

  1. That is the correct blog for anyone who needs to search out out about this topic. You understand a lot its almost exhausting to argue with you (not that I really would need…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Nice stuff, simply great!

  2. Thank you for your site post. Jones and I are actually saving for just a new e book on this topic and your article has made all of us to save the money. Your opinions really responded all our inquiries. In fact, in excess of what we had recognized prior to when we ran into your superb blog. I no longer have doubts along with a troubled mind because you have attended to each of our needs in this article. Thanks

Leave a Reply

