Where she went by Gayle Forman: A book review

Title: Where she went

Author: Gayle Forman

Started Date: January 3, 2012

Finished Date: January 7, 2012

Rating: 5/5 stars

 

This is my first book of the year and I’m glad that I decided to read this first from my to-read bucket. Also, it is a gift from my boyfriend last Chistmas so I made this as my top priority, (thanks bf!)

For me, this is definitely the best young adult book ever! And Gayle Forman is very good, she knows how to capture our hearts. When I started reading, it is until page 12 that I get to realize that it is Adam who’s narrating. LOL! I laughed at myself and began rereading from the first page. I didn’t know what happened there. So it is in Adam’s point of view, and I liked it, even though its about grief and depression. But it has made me understand his feelings and his situation. And halfway through the book, I became angry with Mia for being so selfish. It is on page 188-189 that I learned her reason, she hated him for making him stay. I liked the author’s writing style, the flow of the story and the concept itself, wherein they just had a night exploring New York city and the alternate stories happened to Adam. I liked the lyrics written in very chapter and my favorite is the song at the ending which maybe a favorite of everyone else too. But this is also my favorite because I kept on reading it repeatedly and I believe it says it all..
“The clothes are packed off to Goodwill
I said my goodbyes up on that hill
The house is empty, the furniture sold
Soon your smells will decay to mold
Don’t know why I bother calling, ain’t nobody answering
Don’t know why I bother singing, ain’t nobody listening”
-“Disconnect”, Collateral Damage, Track 10

It read this book for a week, which seems a long time for me. I had a hard time reading it, it was so emotional that I had to stop every time. I almost cried in this Adam’s thought: “Who says I breathe music? Who says I even breathe?”. (I remembered this is also my line when I was once depressed a long time ago, haha!)

I absolutely love this book! I included it in my favorite shelf and for me, it is better than If I stay since I fell in love here with Adam. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Where she went by Gayle Forman: A book review

Leave a Reply

