Forgive My Fins by Tera Lynn Childs: A book review

Title: Forgive My Fins

Author: Tera Lynn Childs

Started Date: March 8, 2012

Finished Date: March 11 2012

Rating: 4/5 stars

 

“Lily Sanderson has a secret, and it’s not that she has a huge crush on gorgeous swimming god Brody Bennett, who makes her heart beat flipper-fast. Unrequited love is hard enough when you’re a normal teenage girl, but when you’re half human, half mermaid like Lily, there’s no such thing as a simple crush. 

Lily’s mermaid identity is a secret that can’t get out, since she’s not just any mermaid – she’s a Thalassinian princess. When Lily found out three years ago that her mother was actually a human, she finally realized why she didn’t feel quite at home in Thalassinia, and she’s been living on land and going to Seaview high school ever since, hoping to find where she truly belongs. Sure, land has its problems – like her obnoxious, biker boy neighbor Quince Fletcher – but it has that one major perk – Brody. The problem is, mermaids aren’t really the casual dating type – when they “bond,” it’s for life. 

When Lily’s attempt to win Brody’s love leads to a tsunami-sized case of mistaken identity, she is in for a tidal wave of relationship drama, and she finds out, quick as a tailfin flick, that happily-ever-after never sails quite as smoothly as you planned.”

 

This is my first mermaid book. I like mermaids so I decided to read it. It was fun and light read. I’m torn between giving it a 4 or 3, so I settled with 3.5 because I hate the main character, Lily. She’s so irritating, and she’s a pessimist too. It’s like the whole book consists of her nagging moments and her complaints about Quince, the boy-next-door who likes her but also her pain in the head. She’s also obsessed with her crush Brody. I just finished and liked the book because of Quince, he has a bad boy character but he’s also lovable when it comes to Lily. She doesn’t deserve him at all. At least, the book is a happy ending, but I won’t read the next book, maybe I’ll read it someday if I change my mind in the future. I won’t say much, it seems I don’t need extra effort to write this review. I still recommend it if you like an easy, fun, light read for the summer, and if you don’t easily get irritated by a weak main character. 😉

 

 

16 thoughts on “Forgive My Fins by Tera Lynn Childs: A book review

      • Thanks Melissa! I’ve also read your blog and learned that you’ve won 31 books! That’s a lot! Super congrats to you! I’m so jealous! LOL!

      • Thank you! I’ve been having a lot of luck with the Goodreads giveaways lately. Some of them have also been books that authors have sent me for honest reviews. I was winning almost a book a day for a while. Then over the weekend I didn’t win a book for three days straight, so I thought my lucky streak was over for a while, but I won a book again this morning, so I’m not sure LOL.

  1. Were they all from Goodreads? How do you do it? LOL! Or do you also join from blog giveaways? You’re lucky indeed! I was so inspired by you, so I joined some today! 😉

    • The majority of them are from Goodreads. I’ve only won one book from a blog giveaway, and then I’ve also been given a few books by authors in exchange for review when they come across my blog. I actually just won three more from Goodreads right now, lol.

      • I also meant to say I’m glad you joined some giveaways, here’s hoping some of my luck will rub off and you’ll win some 🙂

  2. I hope I can borrow some of your luck! LOL! Do you have a shelf or post where you feature the books you’ve won? I’d like to see them and be more jealous! LOL!

    • I actually don’t have a page right now of the books I’ve won, but that is an awesome idea! Thanks so much for the idea. I’ll put it as a page on my blog. Also, as a heads up, I’ll be having my first author interview and a giveaway posted on my blog tomorrow so be sure to stop by and check it out, maybe you’ll win that one 🙂

      • You’re welcome! I’m so excited to see your page of won books, I was actually searching for it yesterday in your goodreads account and blog, that’s why I asked you. 😉 WOW! You will have your own giveaway, that’s super great, it’s like you’re sharing your blessings! LOL! I will definitely join it! Anyway, just a question, how do author interviews work? I’m not very familiar with those, but I’ve been hearing a lot about author interviews. Do you contact first the authors? Sorry for all the questions. 😉

      • I’m happy to answer questions. 🙂 I’ll try and get that page created some weekend.

        This is the first author interview that I’ve ever done so I was pretty much in the dark with it. Luckily the author I did the interview with was wonderful in helping me with it. She actually contacted me about doing the interview but some authors do welcome being contacted to do an interview,it all depends on the person.

        The way it works is that you just send the author a list of questions via email and then they answer them and send them back via email. Or you can do it as more of a chat and just go back and forth and then you post the answers on your blog.

        The giveaway will be posted later today (about 12 hours from now.) so please do stop by and enter, hopefully you’ll win. 🙂

Leave a Reply

