Hope’s Daughter by Melanie Cusick-Jones: A book review

Title: Hope’s Daughter

Author: Melanie Cusick-Jones

Started Date: April 5, 2012

Finished Date: April 9, 2012

Rating: 5/5 stars

 

“Life should be simple for Cassie.

For the small population of Earth survivors who live on the Space Station Hope everything they do is planned and scheduled, down to the cyclical food menus, their roles in the station, even how many children they have.

Despite rigid controls directing her life, Cassie feels more out of synch than ever and worries she won’t find a place for herself within the station community. Perhaps that’s because she’s hearing things inside her head that can’t possibly be real. Or maybe it’s the regular elopements of her peers, heading off to a romantic future in the Married Quarter of the space station, whilst she’s never even been attracted to a boy – no matter how hard her best friend Ami pushes them at her. Then there are the odd questions her work placement partner Balik keeps raising. His questions are just as troubling for her as his distracting smiles and eyes that seem to see inside her.

As Cassie draws closer to Balik she finds that everything else in her life begins to shift. He tells her things that call into question the system they live within. She can’t believe he is right, but at the same time she finds it hard to deny the sincerity of his ideas. Could there be a connection between Cassie’s problems and Balik’s questions? The truth will drag them both to a terrifying and deadly conclusion beyond anything they could have imagined.”

 

WOW! This is definitely a very wonderful and unique book, a dystopian/sci-fi in particular. It felt like a breather for me, with all those dystopian books coming out nowadays. Some of them are tragic, and terrifying at times. But this book is one of a kind! It started off slow, but not in a negative way, the start kept me sitting and glued to my seat. This week has been busy for me because of the holidays, but I made sure that I get to read two or three chapters each day. It was very interesting, and I considered it as well-written and researched. A lot of questions were popping in my mind while reading it, but they were answered slowly along the way. Cassie, the protagonist, is a strong heroine, she’s sometimes confused, but she definitely knows what to do in needed times. Balik, the gorgeous partner of Cassie, is a very likable male character, I’d like to hear more of him. Hopefully with the next books, he can also be the narrator. LOL!

The book contains the enough mystery and adventure of any first books should have.  I like the turn of events and I felt like I am also Cassie with the search of answers, and shocked with the truth. I am very excited with the second book! Hope to read it soon!

I highly recommend this book to all the dystopian and sci-fi YA lovers, I’m sure you will also love it as much as I do!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hope’s Daughter by Melanie Cusick-Jones: A book review

  1. Hi Jona – thanks for the lovely review – I really pleased you enjoyed the book 🙂 and Balik’s story is coming soon – I’m working on it now as he’s one of my favourites too

    Mel x

    • You’re welcome Mel! It is indeed wonderful book, and I’m really looking forward with the paperback or hardcopy of them. I’m sure they’ll be successful! I’ll be posting the interview after this. 😉

Leave a Reply

