Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins: A book review

Title: Hex Hall

Author: Rachel Hawkins

Started Date: April 9, 2012

Finished Date: April 15, 2012

Rating: 5/5 stars

 

“Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It’s gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie’s estranged father–an elusive European warlock–only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it’s her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.

By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tagalong ghost, and a new roommate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire student on campus. Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect.

As a series of blood-curdling mysteries starts to converge, Sophie prepares for the biggest threat of all: an ancient secret society determined to destroy all Prodigium, especially her.”

 

AWESOME! 😉
I’ve been wanting to read this series for so long, but I don’t know what has kept me on hold, maybe because I thought it’s another usual witch book. Good thing it’s our book read for this month in one of my groups in Goodreads, I finally grabbed a copy in the bookstore. In the beginning, it reminded me of the Harry Potter and Evernight series. But halfway through the book, I was enjoying it and it seemed original for me in a cool way, very funny and hilarious. The characters are amazing! Sophie, the protagonist, is a unique heroine for me. I like her because she’s a bitchy and sarcastic witch, but she loves and protects her friends too, or friend since I think Jenna is only her true friend there. LOL! I also think I have a crush on Cal, yes I do! But he is not the love interest of Sophie here in this book, it’s Archer, the warlock and campus crush. Well, don’t hate me if I don’t have a crush on him, Cal is more appealing to me even though he wasn’t mentioned much. And I’m so excited to read the second book so I can read more about him! I also like the twists of events in the end, I really didn’t expect it. That’s what I like about this book, it started the usual, and ended unpredictable.

I’m going to read the second book this week! Really really realy excited! 😉

 

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins: A book review

Leave a Reply

