The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter: A book review

Title: The Goddess Test

Author: Aimee Carter

Started Date: May 22, 2012

Finished Date: May 25, 2012

Rating: 5/5 stars

 

“EVERY GIRL WHO HAS TAKEN THE TEST HAS DIED.

NOW IT’S KATE’S TURN. 

It’s always been just Kate and her mom–and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate’s going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear that her mother won’t live past the fall.

Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld–and if she accepts his bargain, he’ll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he’s crazy–until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she suceeds, she’ll become Henry’s future bride and a goddess.”

 

I love it! I love it! And I love it!
Wow, I didn’t expect that! I’ve read mixed reviews about this book, that’s why I did not set my expectations high. I bought this from the book depository, so happy it arrived early and I picked this first among my towering TBR paperbacks at home. I really love Greek mythology, especially Hades, he’s my favorite character. And the author has described him the way I wanted him to be! (You should definitely check that out by yourself *winks*). I admit, it started slow but it was so interesting that I couldn’t even put it down. I just have to, because I have to sleep and go to work in the morning. Anyway, believe it or not, what I like the most about this book are the characters. I had fun reading it because of the different characters, they are sometimes funny and sometimes annoying. Kate is definitely funny and annoying, sometimes she really knows how to joke and deliver a punch line, but I also couldn’t get the reason why she doesn’t like dresses. lol. And Hades, the god of the underworld, he is definitely hot and gorgeous here. I hate the fact that he’s sad and he loves Persephone so much, while I’m left pitying Kate. Before I spoil so much, I must say that the latter part of the book is the most amazing. Questions and secrets are revealed, and I really like the twist that has happened. I also like how the author mixed up the Greek mythology, it’s unique and very creative. And of course, the romance is something that I wanted to happen, and it really lived up my expectations. I felt like reading historical romance books with a mythology flavor.

I will definitely read the next book! 😉

My favorite quotes:
“I care so much that I do not know how to tell you without it seeming inconsequential compared to how I feel. Even if I am distant at times and seem as if I do not want to be with you, it is only because this scares me, too.”-Henry/Hades, page 221

“And I also know that the way I feel about you isn’t going to change just because the seasons do.” -Kate, page 287.

 

 

xoxo

Leave a Reply

