Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers: A book review

Title: Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin #1)

Author: Robin LaFevers

Started Date: July 14, 2012

Finished Date: July 20, 2012

Rating: 5/5 stars

 

“Young, beautiful and deadly. Trained as an assassin by the god of Death, Ismae is sent to the court of Brittany, where she finds herself under prepared – not only for the games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart?”

 

MY THOUGHTS.

I finished this book last night and I’m having a hard time giving it a proper review because of how incredibly awesome and amazing it is. I’ve been hearing a lot of good things about it, and I’m so eager to have a printed copy. I ordered a paperback copy at the Book Depository because it is not yet available in our local bookstores. The moment I got my hands on this book, which actually made me scream, I started reading it. I’ve learned that it’s a YA with a twist of historical romance and I find it very unique. The start is very interesting, it’s a real page turner, and I couldn’t bring myself to drop it. But when it came to the part where it was hard for me to absorb and digest it, I stopped. I had a hard time with the writing style, and some of the terminologies and political issues. But I used to read a lot of historical romance books with politics, and I was reminded that they were the ones that started my book addiction. LOL! So I’ve learned to adapt eventually and enjoy everything about it.
I love the characters, and Ismae is now my new favorite heroine. I can’t help but compare Ismae to Katsa from Graceling, since they are both assassins and have special ability. But of course, they are different, Ismae is a daughter of god of death, trained at the convent as Death’s handmaiden and she excels with poisons. I like her because of her strength and bravery, she was never annoying or confused at times. I like the part where she met Duval, how they clash every time, and how the romance was developed. Duval, on the other hand is a perfect match for Ismae, he is sometimes rude at her, but he’s a also a tease and a sweet man, and he loves and protects his family so much.

Grave Mercy is a kind of book that will be loved by everyone! And it is for you to find out for yourself, and you will never be disappointed. I love it and it is now in my favorite shelf. I can’t wait for the next book to come out!! (It’s a new story which is about Sybella, also one of the characters here.)

Here’s my favorite quote from Duval and I really cried upon reading it.
“Whenever you are ready, if you never are, my heart is yours, until Death do us part. Whatever that may mean when consorting with one of Death’s handmaidens.”

*sigh* I definitely love it!

 

xoxo

3 thoughts on “Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers: A book review

  1. I am smack dab in the middle of this book and really enjoying it! I find myself comparing Ismae to Katsa as well! I’ll have to come back to this when I’m done and talk about it some more 🙂

Leave a Reply

