MY AUGUST TOP READS!


As a blogger, I admit I haven’t posted a lot of book reviews lately. The reason behind this is the fact that I’m reading more than usual, and I have no time for writing proper reviews. So, I decided to post my August Top Reads!!! They are the books I’ve read this August that I gave a 5 or 4 star rating in Goodreads. And of course, I loved them! Here they are:

1. Clockwork Angel and Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

These are two books in the Infernal Devices series: the first one is the Clockwork Angel and then, the second is the Clockwork Prince. I love this series and I think it is way better than the Mortal Instruments, but they are both good. I just love the Victorian London setting of this that’s why I prefer it. And the love triangle is so amazing! LOL! I am definitely Team Jem!! I fell for him so hard, I’ve been thinking about him these past few days. My favorite character from the first book is Jessamine because she’s a brat and she’s hard to deal with. LOL! The second book totally broke my heart. I love it more than the first, mostly because it has more Jem in it and I also learned Will’s secrets. I admit I hate Tessa because she loves them both. Or it’s Will she really loves but she agreed on Jem’s proposal. I should be happy for Jem, but it just broke my heart. Jem is a good person, with a pure kind heart, but he’s dying, and he deserves someone better, someone who really loves him. Anyway, I’m excited and a bit scared of the final book, Clockwork Princess. 🙂

2. Tiger’s Voyage by Colleen Houck

5 stars for the awesome adventure! 5 stars for 5 dragons! LOL! I definitely enjoyed the book in spite of the love triangle. I think it was overdone. Kelsey is still as frustrating as ever. Ren is still a perfection, and I love him. Kishan, on the other hand, is kind and gentleman, and also gorgeous. So I firmly believes that Kels doesn’t deserve any of them. At first, I thought she’s right for Ren, but I changed my mind after the second book. I can also see her with Kishan, but now, there’s no one for her. LOL! Anyway, I still enjoyed it so much. Especially the appearance of the 5 dragons! I love any book with dragons, and of course, tigers!

3. Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

Another praise for Julie Kagawa! I didn’t expect it to be so amazing and I must say it really exceeded my expectations. I don’t read much vampire books, but i decided to give it a try, since it is on our buddy reads. I love and adore the book, it is intense and gripping. It is definitely a different kind of vampire story with a touch of dystopia. Dark and brutal, and beautiful at the same time. If you want a kick-ass heroine, you will definitely like Allison. The romance is also heartbreaking, but made me yearn for more. I want more of Zeke, and the mysterious vampire Kanin. I need the second book now!!! 🙂

4. The Legacies (Lorien Legacies: The Lost Files 1-3) by Pittacus Lore

Fast paced and action packed! I enjoyed it so much! A perfect bonus story of the series! Tragic at most times but well written because I felt most of it. My favorite part is the POV of Adam, a kind hearted mog. But I also liked the love story of nine, I think his story is the most tragic among them. As always, six is amazing, the coolest character! Now ready to read The rise of nine! 😉

5. Where you are by Tammara Webber

You may notice that this is the only contemporary romance in this post. Well, I rarely read this kind of books but I think I am liking them nowadays because they are easy and light read. But I’m very particular with picking a book in this genre. And I must say, any book from Tammara Webber will do for me. I love her book, Easy, and I had high expectations with Between the Lines series of her. I honestly say that I didn’t like the first book from it, but I did finished it, and the ending of it made me want to read this second book, Where You Are. And I definitely enjoyed it!! Graham and Emma are perfect for each other! I love how they ended up together, their romance, and the amazing ending. I haven’t read the third book because it is about Reid, but I might someday. 😉

6. Juliet Immortal by Stacey Jay

Finally, let me give you the only book I made a proper review in my blog this August, check it out here. I’m sorry guys, I have to include it here because it is definitely my top read for August. For me, this is a perfect and unique retelling of Romeo and Juliet. The writing style has flaws but the romance is captivating, especially the combination of tragedy and true love.

**********

That’s all my fellow readers and bloggers! What are your thoughts? Have you also read them? Let me know so we can discuss! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “MY AUGUST TOP READS!

  1. I absolutely loved the Lost Files, glad you did yoo 🙂 Adam’s story was a surprising favourite and I reaaalllly hope he shows up again in the series. The Rise of Nine my next book to read and I can’t wait 🙂

Leave a Reply

