Cinder by Marissa Meyer: A book review

Title: Cinder

Author: Marissa Meyer

Started Date: October 15, 2012

Finished Date: October 24, 2012

Rating: 5/5 stars

 

Summary from Goodreads:

 “Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . . 

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.”

 

MY THOUGHTS.

 

I FREAKING LOVE IT! A UNIQUE AND WONDERFUL RETELLING OF CINDERELLA!

I admit, it took me a long time to finally read it, because I don’t want it to end. It’s too short!!! I was expecting a cliffhanger but I didn’t know that it’s the kind that left me screaming for the second book. Wahhhhhhhhh, PRINCE KAI, you’re so perfect for me! LOL!

Before reading the book, I was expecting a dystopian Cinderella world, but I actually didn’t see it. I’m sure that this should be under sci-fi young adult fiction. The idea of Lunars, moon, and Princess Selene really reminded me of one of my favorite childhood cartoon/anime, Sailor Moon. When I finished it and read the acknowledgment part, I learned that the author actually incorporated Sailor Moon in it. Imagine a Cinderella retelling with a Sailor Moon twist, I’m so in love with this book!!!

I love all the characters! Cinder is awesome, she’s brave, strong, and a loving sister. I like the fact that she knows how to defend herself from her evil stepmother and stepsister and also the evil queen. She’s not even annoying! And I love heroines who are not annoying!! I’m serious! Of course, I love the prince, oh Prince Kai, you’re such a gentleman! I wish I can be a princess too! LOL! I can imagine him as Tuxedo Mask, you know what I mean. *wink*

Anyway, I’m so freaking now, I need the second, third, fourth book NOW!! As in NOW!!! *shouting and hoping that the author can hear me*

😉

 

 

xoxo,

7 thoughts on “Cinder by Marissa Meyer: A book review

  1. I bought this book with a gift card I won from Doctor’s Notes. 🙂 Can’t wait until I get through my review books and read this! My daughter is reading it right now, and she loves it. She’s 9 and is in 4th grade but can read at a junior high level. 😀 (Sorry, just had to brag about her for a minute, lol).

    • Hope you’ll get to read it soon! You will definitely love it!
      That’s ok, I love kids who loves to read, you’re awesome for having a daughter who reads in a young age. 🙂

  2. Ohh I LOVED Sailor Moon when I was a kid too! I didn’t know she had incorporated it. I’ll have to read the acknowledgements.

    I’m glad you loved it! I loved this book as well, I’m so excited for Scarlet!

Leave a Reply

