13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson: A book review

Title: 13 Little Blue Envelopes

Author: Maureen Johnson

Started Date: November 1, 2012

Finished Date: November 2, 2012

Rating: 5/5 stars

 

Summary from Goodreads:

” Inside little blue envelope 1 are $1,000 and instructions to buy a plane ticket.

In envelope 2 are directions to a specific London flat.

The note in envelope 3 tells Ginny: Find a starving artist.

Because of envelope 4, Ginny and a playwright/thief/ bloke-about-town called Keith go to Scotland together, with somewhat disastrous-though utterly romantic-results. But will she ever see him again?

Everything about Ginny will change this summer, and it’s all because of the 13 little blue envelopes.”

 

MY THOUGHTS.

 

5 stars! AWESOME! VERY CREATIVE! Unique! I love every little thing about it. Definitely exceeded my expectation!

I’ve been seeing this book in our bookstore for a long time but the title was really the one that caught my attention. It seems very interesting and cute! Of course, my curiosity for those 13 little blue envelopes and the messages they carry was killing me. LOL! I expected a lot of adventures and funny scenes, and the book never failed in any point. What I didn’t expect is the ability of the book to bring out my emotions. The characters felt real. Even though sometimes I wonder how a teenager can actually travel alone by herself around the world. Is it possible to travel alone in that age? Well, I’m sure my mom will never allow me if I’m still 17. LOL! I love to travel and I’m so jealous with Ginnie, she was able to go anywhere. I love the way how she handled herself, she’s strong and funny like her aunt. And I can’t help but wonder if there’s really a person like her aunt, carefree, eccentric, crazy, somehow not normal. But I like her, she’s a good and caring person. She loves to help people, and she inspired me a lot.

I’ve learned a lot from this book, especially some lovely places and paintings. I’m not very familiar with the painters mentioned, so I googled them. I love the new knowledge I gained. And every blue envelope has a moral lesson. Go figure them out!!! 🙂
I admire the author’s creativeness with this book. I’ll be reading more from her for sure.

I laughed and cried, in most parts. Maybe the book taught me how to be crazy sometimes.
But you know, we must sometimes, yeah, be crazy, to be happy and enjoy life.

🙂

 

 

xoxo, 

2 thoughts on “13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson: A book review

Leave a Reply

