Defiance by C.J. Redwine: A book review

defianceTitle: Defiance

Author: C.J. Redwine

Started Date: December 11, 2012

Finished Date: December 14, 2012

Rating: 4/5 stars

 

Summary from Goodreads:

“Within the walls of Baalboden, beneath the shadow of the city’s brutal leader, Rachel Adams has a secret. While other girls sew dresses and obey their male Protectors, Rachel knows how to survive in the wilderness and deftly wield a sword. When her father, Jared, fails to return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector, her father’s apprentice, Logan–the same boy Rachel declared her love for two years ago, and the same one who handed her heart right back to her. Left with nothing but a fierce belief in her father’s survival, Rachel decides to escape and find him herself. But treason against the Commander carries a heavy price, and what awaits her in the Wasteland could destroy her.

At nineteen, Logan McEntire is many things. Orphan. Outcast. Inventor. As apprentice to the city’s top courier, Logan is focused on learning his trade so he can escape the tyranny of Baalboden. But his plan never included being responsible for his mentor’s impulsive daughter. Logan is determined to protect her, but when his escape plan goes wrong and Rachel pays the price, he realizes he has more at stake than disappointing Jared.

As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can’t be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making.”

 

MY THOUGHTS.

 

SUCH A GREAT READ! IT’S A VERY PROMISING BOOK, IT STARTED VERY STRONG, AND YOU WON’T BE ABLE TO PUT IT DOWN!!!

When I started reading it, I was a bit confused about what genre it belongs. It feels like dystopian but with a very dark fantasy twists in it. I like the drama at the very start, it was actually hard to put it down. What I liked much about this book is the alternative POVs of Logan and Rachel. It is easy to differentiate them, and understand their individual thoughts. Sometimes, different POVs confuse me but it never happened in this book. I love Logan’s POV so much, I can’t help but admire him. He’s so strong and brave, and I like his self control, LOL! Yes, there are a lot of tension between Rachel and Logan.

I would have given this book 5 starts if not because of Rachel. I have to admit that I had mixed emotions about her. (I don’t like her name, Rachel Adams, kind of reminds me of an actress, LOL). But kidding aside, the title of the book really suits her. I wanted to like her, especially because she’s a kick-ass heroine who loves weapons and has a massive collection of them. But she’s also immature and she lacks reasoning. She just acts on impulse. She becomes worse as the story goes. And she really did something that made me hate her more.

I abolutely want to kill the Commander! OMG, he’s so cruel and horrible! I couldn’t stand him! If only I can erase him in this book! LOL!

Anyway, despite of these characters, I still love it because of Logan! I can’t believe how much she loves Rachel even if she’s so impossible and hard to deal with. She’s indeed lucky to have him.

I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves a dark world, weapons and bloody fights, a heroine that you will love or hate, and a hero who loves that kind of girl. 🙂

 

xoxo,

2 thoughts on “Defiance by C.J. Redwine: A book review

Leave a Reply

