City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare: A book review

city of ashesTitle: City of Ashes

Author: Cassandra Clare

Started Date: December 20, 2012

Finished Date: December 24, 2012

Rating: 5/5 stars

 

Summary from Goodreads:

“Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?”

 

MY THOUGHTS.

 

A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!!!
Awesome book from the series!

I admit I have few confessions to make. I’ve read City of Bones last year, yes, it took me a year to finally read the sequel. I didn’t like it that much, City of Bones wasn’t able to connect to me and give me the urge to read the next. Then, my friend gave me City of Ashes as a gift this Christmas day and I decided to give it another try since EVERYONE loves the series. Also, I’ve read the Infernal Devices series and I want to understand the connection. On another note, the movie is coming out next year, I’d like to be up and ready. LOL! And I’m glad that I’ve read it, it’s definitely an action-packed adventure and a twist of emotions!

The characters have really made me love the whole book. I’m still not a fan of Clary though, maybe because she’s confuse most of the time. Simon or Jace? Jace or Simon? Ugh. I know she has a very complicated situation right now, but she needs to know what she really wants. Ok, I’ll give her time. LOL! Well, she’s likable sometimes, especially on the last part, for saving the day. LOL! I like Simon, he’s a great person and I believe that Clary doesn’t deserve him at all. I’ll be happy if he will have someone that’s right for him. Anyway, Alec and Magnus Bane for the win! LOL!

Having read the Infernal Devices first, I can’t help but compare Jace and Will. They are somehow the same in such ways, they are both very handsome and troubled, they also have the same family issues. Anyway, let’s stick to Jace here. LOL! It’s impossible not to fall in love with him, and I’ll be getting the next book to read more of him! Yay! Here’s my favorite quote from him:
“Every time you almost die, I almost die myself.”

What a good way to end a review! A quote from Jace! *squeals!!!*

xoxo,

One thought on “City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare: A book review

Leave a Reply

