Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi: Book Review

unravel meTitle: Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2)

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Started Date:  February 17, 2013

Finished Date: February 18, 2013

Rating: 4/5 stars

 

Summary from Goodreads:

“tick

tick

tick

tick

tick

it’s almost

time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.”

 

MY THOUGHTS.

 

Wow!!! This is definitely an awesome sequel, action-packed and very emotional! It has surprising twists and discoveries that will get everyone so thrilled, that they couldn’t put the book down!!! I didn’t feel the middle-book syndrome, which is common in a trilogy. It also has one of the best love triangles I’ve read! I admit this book made me confused so much! I don’t want to be confused too, like Juliette! Adam is my first love! LOL!

Anyway, I know anyone who will read this will ask why I only give it 4 stars even though I love it so much. As much as I want to give it 5 awesome stars, I couldn’t because of the heroine, Juliette. OMG, I couldn’t count how many times I rolled my eyes while reading the whole book, especially the disoriented thoughts of her. It was so frustrating and annoying, I’d like to pull all her hair off. I tried to understand her, right from the first book. But I couldn’t tolerate anymore her craziness. I know she has her issues and problems, especially with the kind of ability that she has, but..she became selfish and impossible. I hope, yes, I still have this little hope, that she’ll improve on the next book.

In spite of my disposition with Juliette, I love all the other characters! I even learned to love Warner! I remember I was afraid of him in the first book because I saw his cruelty. But this sequel made me like him so much, I saw the goodness in him, all the things that make him so attractive. I enjoyed his scenes with Juliette, and it seems that I want him for her. They have this connection, physical and emotional. And I think it’s for the best that they’ll be together. With that, I can have Adam for myself! Woot! Woot! LOL! He’s still the same, hot and gorgeous, a perfect boyfriend. I really wish that he’ll be happy in the end, because he deserves it so much. One character that I also like to have for myself is Kenji! He’s funnier and has a bigger role here, which is a good thing. 😉

I love this book and I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the final installment! I wish that there will be more Adam and Warner and Kenji! LOL! I highly recommend this series to anyone who loves dystopian, romance, and gorgeous characters! 😉

 

 

xoxo,

5 thoughts on “Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi: Book Review

  1. Great review Jona 🙂 Everyone loves Warner now! I can’t wait to read this book and see if I change my mind about him because I wasn’t a fan in Shatter Me. It’s funny because your ‘team Adam’ icon is right in my face while I type this, but are you team Warner now? Shame to hear about your frustration with Juliet though, it’s so annoying when you’re starting to dislike the main character, but I hope you’ll get to like her more in the next one 🙂

  2. Loved the review, Jona! I also appreciated Kenji so much in this book for being the voice of reason when Juliette was just being hyper-emotional/crazy!

  3. Hi Jona! This is VampireNovelFan. I moved to a new domain recently and the followers weren’t all transferred correctly. I just wanted to check that you’re receiving the latest posts from my site. If not you may need to register by email. I am currently holding a giveaway and didn’t want my current followers to miss out. This is my new site:

    http://www.yoururbanfantasy.com/2013/02/26/review-giveaway-did-someone-say-giveaway-hunting-daylight-acquainted-with-the-night-2-a-unique-take-on-vampires/

    Your blog’s lookin’ good!

Leave a Reply

