Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson: Book Review

amy and rogerTitle: Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour

Author: Morgan Matson

Started Date:  February 28, 2013

Finished Date: March 2, 2013

Rating: 5/5 stars

 

Summary from Goodreads:

“Amy Curry thinks her life sucks. Her mom decides to move from California to Connecticut to start anew–just in time for Amy’s senior year. Her dad recently died in a car accident. So Amy embarks on a road trip to escape from it all, driving cross-country from the home she’s always known toward her new life. Joining Amy on the road trip is Roger, the son of Amy’s mother’s old friend. Amy hasn’t seen him in years, and she is less than thrilled to be driving across the country with a guy she barely knows. So she’s surprised to find that she is developing a crush on him. At the same time, she’s coming to terms with her father’s death and how to put her own life back together after the accident. Told in traditional narrative as well as scraps from the road–diner napkins, motel receipts, postcards–this is the story of one girl’s journey to find herself.”

 

MY THOUGHTS.

 

Wow! This is definitely an epic read! I love how creative it is, especially the combination of songs, drawings and food! I can actually say that she’s a good writer, having this first book of hers, but it felt like she’s been a writing for a long time. I like the turn of events and the development of the characters. Amy and Roger, though almost strangers at first, managed to get along very well. I admit I expected it to be all about romance, and I thought I’ll find it right from the very start. But it didn’t, even halfway through it. And I can gladly say that I’m not disappointed because of that. The road trips are fun, it felt like I want to go on one even though I don’t how to drive and of course, I don’t have a car. I also like the fact that this is educational for me, learning new things about America and hoping I could also visit someday, though I’m sure that it’s quite impossible since the cost is too expensive. LOL!

Of course, this book is not just about fun, but also about relationships, family and emotional attachments. Amy was grieving because of her father’s death due to car accident, and that made her afraid to drive again. Her twin brother is in rehab and her mother decided to move across the country. While Roger, her driver during the road trip, also has his won problem about his love life. Yeah, they were able to cope up with their issues along the way. I will not say how, but they met a lot of friends and discovered new things about themselves. Romance did came, and I’m so glad on how it turned out, though I wish there’ll be more. I fell in love with the characters and I hope there’ll be a second book about them! 😉

Anyway, I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves romance and traveling, and taking epic detours. Who knows what you might get. 😉

 

 

xoxo,

2 thoughts on “Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson: Book Review

Leave a Reply

