Measuring Up by Nyrae Dawn: Book Review

measuring upTitle: Measuring Up

Author: Nyrae Dawn

Started Date:  March 24, 2013

Finished Date: March 24, 2013

Rating: 4/5 stars

 

Summary from Goodreads:

“Seventeen-year-old Annabel Conway is tired of the Hillcrest High School elite making her life miserable because she’s not a size two. This summer, she’s hiring a personal trainer to help her lose weight. 

Annabel doesn’t expect her trainer to be a gorgeous guy around her age. Boys like Tegan are jerks. They pretend to like girls like her so they can make an idiot out of them. Been there, done that. Totally not going there again. She kind of hates him on principal. Blond. Muscular. Funny. It doesn’t help that he knows her measurements!

Soon, Tegan’s so much more than that. He’s the boy who teaches her to box when she has a bad day. Who jogs with her and lets her set the pace. Who kisses her until she melts. He makes her feel beautiful regardless of what the scale says. Unlike her mom, he doesn’t expect perfection, and he doesn’t try to shield her from the world like her dad and best friend. Tegan likes her the way she is.

But what happens when he’s not there? He can’t always be there… 

Will Annabel be able to stand on her own and learn that she already measures up? That her worth doesn’t lie in what the world thinks, the scale says, or even what Tegan tells her—but in herself?”

 

MY THOUGHTS.

 

I really like this book because it’s a light read and I also enjoyed all the characters! But what really made me to want to read this is because of the cover! Haha! The guy in the cover is a hottie, I couldn’t stop myself staring. Haha! Anyway, this book is such a breather to me, after reading a roller coaster one. I’m glad I finally decided to read it, since it has been in my ebook shelf for a long time! I like the cute characters, especially Annabel Lee and Teagan. Wait, I have to admit that I didn’t read the summary before reading it, so I didn’t know that this is about a fat girl and his hot instructor. It reminds me of a movie here in our country, though the situation is reverse, the guy was the fat one.

I enjoyed knowing all the characters. Even though Annabel Lee has a lot of insecurities, she actually redeemed herself because she’s determined to lose weight and totally changed her life. I understand her of course, because I thought I was a little fat during grade school, and right now because I’ve been eating a lot! Haha! No one wants to get bullied so I totally understand her. Teagan, on the other hand, is such a charmer, he’s conceited in a funny way, and he’s a hottie too. He’s an instructor, duh. Haha! I like Annabel’s father because he’s so supportive and understanding. And I also like Teagan’s mom and brother, they’re both cool. And I have this mixed feelings about Annabel’s bestfriend and mother, I think they don’t understand her at all. Her mom doesn’t listen to her. And she doesn’t know her too.

Anyway, I definitely enjoyed this one, and it’s a really good read. So if you want a light book, you have to pick this one . 😉

 

xoxo,

 

Leave a Reply

