Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1) by Susan Ee: Book Review

angelfallTitle: Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1)

Author: Susan Ee

Started Date:  April 8, 2013

Finished Date: April 11, 2013

Rating: 4/5 stars

 

Summary from Goodreads:

“It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.”

 

MY THOUGHTS.

 

Wow, this book is really good! I just wish for a better ending! That ending ripped my heart out! I really feel sorry about everything. 😦

I know, I know, this book is awesome and amazing for an angel book. However, the totality of the book broke my heart to pieces. The world is too dark for my taste. It can pass for a horror book because of scary creatures and gruesome murders. I thought this is just an ordinary angel book, with lots of angel. But it seems that they are very different here. I’m a bit conservative regarding angel books, I like them without not much of religion. I know it’s hard not to relate it to religion, but it complicates everything.

Anyway, I like the two characters, Penryn and Raffe. Penryn is such a bad ass heroine, she’s brave and strong, and I admire her for knowing self-defense and martial arts. With a world like that, she really need it. Her mother did a very good in raising her as a tough girl. Raffe, on the other hand, is definitely one hot angel! *swoons* I can’t stop thinking about how hot he is, it’s like I really can imagine him. Even though he doesn’t smile a lot and he’s got a bad temper, and he doesn’t reveal much about himself, I still like him. And I really feel sorry for what happened to him at the ending. It made me sad. 😦

I hope that the second book will have more romance in it. And more happy moments. I think they both deserve to be happy.
I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves a kick ass heroine with a really hot guy! Haha!

 

xoxo,

Leave a Reply

