Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley: Book Review

graffitiTitle: Graffiti Moon

Author: Cath Crowley

Started Date:  April 11, 2013

Finished Date: April 13, 2013

Rating: 5/5 stars

 

Summary from Goodreads:

“Senior year is over, and Lucy has the perfect way to celebrate: tonight, she’s going to find Shadow, the mysterious graffiti artist whose work appears all over the city. He’s out there somewhere—spraying color, spraying birds and blue sky on the night—and Lucy knows a guy who paints like Shadow is someone she could fall for. Really fall for. Instead, Lucy’s stuck at a party with Ed, the guy she’s managed to avoid since the most awkward date of her life. But when Ed tells her he knows where to find Shadow, they’re suddenly on an all-night search around the city. And what Lucy can’t see is the one thing that’s right before her eyes.”

 

MY THOUGHTS.

 

I love this book so much!!!
Let me count the ways…

Hahaha, just kidding, I’m just trying to sound poetic like this book. 🙂

But I’m not kidding when I said that I really love this book, it is more than what it seems to be. And I have to admit that I cried while reading it, even though this is not a tear jerker kind. I cried because it was able to stir out emotions within me. Also, it made me appreciate art and everything about it. I’m in love with graffitis , especially those that are done well and with wonderful meanings. I remember I’ve watched someone in youtube that he used graffiti in a wall when he proposed to his girlfriend. Since then, I finally learned to check out some fantastic graffitis.

Anyway, I love all the characters here, though the coincidence of pairing is not that realistic. LOL! For one moment, I thought Lucy was very delusional to believe that she can find Shadow and fall in love with him even though she doesn’t have a single idea about him. But everything she and her friends did went out really well for everyone. I know, even after reading the summary, anyone can guess that Shadow is Ed. That fact is way too obvious, right? But the whole book is not predictable, it made me wonder how he’s going to admit that who really is. I love how the romance developed between Lucy and Ed, it’s kinda extraordinary, since they had one history together, and had a second chance.

I love the poems written by Poet/Leo and the graffitis created by Shadow. They have deeper meanings and stories behind each.

My favorite lines from Ed:
My piece looks better with them on there. I try not to show what I’m thinking. That her work is strange and cool and beautiful, like her.”

Her word are pictures, and I’m painting them on the wall in my head as she talks.”

Aww, I swooned a lot! Actually, they are not lines, but Ed’s thoughts in his point of view. I love him, really. He was able to see the real beauty, in art and in a person.

One of my favorite lines from Lucy:
And I look at him because he needs to be looked at. He needs to be seen. I hate that he has been on his own for so long, painting graffiti moons in the dark, keeping quiet about who he really is.”

It’s very unusual that I liked a line from the heroine, but this line definitely touched my heart in wonderful ways. 🙂

 

 

xoxo,

2 thoughts on “Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley: Book Review

Leave a Reply

