The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #1) by Michelle Hodkin: Book Review

unbecomingTitle: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #1)

Author: Michelle Hodkin

Started Date:  May 11, 2013

Finished Date:  May 18, 2013

Rating: 3/5 stars

 

Summary from Goodreads:

“Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

     It can.

     She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.

     There is.

     She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.

     She’s wrong.

     After Mara survives the traumatizing accident at the old asylum, it makes sense that she has issues. She lost her best friend, her boyfriend, and her boyfriend’s sister, and as if that weren’t enough to cope with, her family moves to a new state in order to give her a fresh start. But that fresh start is quickly filled with hallucinations—or are they premonitions?—and then corpses, and the boundary between reality and nightmare is wavering. At school, there’s Noah, a devastatingly handsome charmer who seems determined to help Mara piece together what’s real, what’s imagined—and what’s very, very dangerous.”

 

MY THOUGHTS.

 

Intense. Mysterious. Gripping. Unpredictable. Weird. Kind of.

Yes, it was really weird, in ways I couldn’t explain. I guess it was because of the revelation about Mara and Noah. What kept me reading this book is because of the suspense, I couldn’t guess what happened to Mara right until the end of the book. It gave me goosebumps, especially the ghosts, they are really creepy. However, I couldn’t connect the ghosts to what she can do. I admit the book was hard to figure out. Mara is such a strong character, especially how she stood up and never allow people to bully her. She’s also tough with Noah. However, she definitely has a temper. She seems crazy sometimes, but of course, she’s really not. She somehow reminds me of Juliette from the Shatter Me series and Violet from The Body Finder series. I won’t thoroughly explain why because I might give some spoilers. I also want my review to be mysterious as the book. Haha!

Anyway, I like the book because of Noah Shaw!
People kept on telling me that Noah is so swoon-worthy, and he’s the only one that made them love the book, according to some. I have to agree with everything about him. He’s a certified flirt and I like how he pursued Mara to go out with her. I love how he defends her every time, how he insists on keeping them together, and how he manages to fix everything. I really hope he can, you know, fix her.

Of course, I’ll be reading the next book. Hopefully it will be so much better. And I have to say that the covers of this series are definitely gorgeous. 😉

 

xoxo,

4 thoughts on “The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #1) by Michelle Hodkin: Book Review

  1. I also gave this book 3 stars. It was really confusing! But.. yes. You must read Evolution. It was much much much much better!!! It was one of my top 10 books last year.

Leave a Reply

