Black City (Black City #1) by Elizabeth Richards: Book Review

black cityTitle: Black City (Black City #1)

Author: Elizabeth Richards

Started Date:  July 2, 2013

Finished Date:  July 7, 2013

Rating: 4/5 stars

Summary from Goodreads:

“A dark and tender post-apocalyptic love story set in the aftermath of a bloody war.

In a city where humans and Darklings are now separated by a high wall and tensions between the two races still simmer after a terrible war, sixteen-year-olds Ash Fisher, a half-blood Darkling, and Natalie Buchanan, a human and the daughter of the Emissary, meet and do the unthinkable—they fall in love. Bonded by a mysterious connection that causes Ash’s long-dormant heart to beat, Ash and Natalie first deny and then struggle to fight their forbidden feelings for each other, knowing if they’re caught, they’ll be executed—but their feelings are too strong.

When Ash and Natalie then find themselves at the center of a deadly conspiracy that threatens to pull the humans and Darklings back into war, they must make hard choices that could result in both their deaths.”

MY THOUGHTS.

A really good paranormal/dystopian book.Dark, cruel, and undeniably romantic.

I have to admit that I didn’t know that there are vampires in this book. I only thought of the usual dystopian stuffs such as world-building, wars, and politics. What I really liked about this one is the forbidden romance. I’ve expected a lot from it because of the summary, it said “Ash and Natalie first deny and then struggle to fight their forbidden feelings for each other, knowing if they’re caught, they’ll be executed—but their feelings are too strong.”. So you can’t blame me to expect much especially with the word “execution”. LOL!

It started really good, though I couldn’t identify the different kinds of Darklings, since there are rare ones and common ones. They also have different appearances. And I couldn’t picture them at all. It’s hard to remember the system but it eventually came to me. I like the two POVs from Natalie and Ash. Natalie is a normal girl, a human, with a heart failure. Ash is a Twin-blood, half human and half Darkling, with heart that doesn’t beat. Everything about them is very interesting, the mystery of the heart and their races.

I enjoyed the first half, then all of a sudden, my love for this book deflated like a balloon. I would have given it 5 stars but the latter half of it made me roll my eyes and raise my eyebrows. It became fast-paced, which is not in a good way, it became literally fast, it seemed that the events became unbelievable. (Watch out, spoilers ahead! ) Here are some of the parts: <spoiler>When they learned that they’re Blood Mates, they instantly agree to be a couple. When Natalie learned that her heart is not truly hers and Evangeline is the true Blood Mate of Ash. Then he allowed Evangeline to kiss him and Natalie saw them. Then the next day, Natalie forgave him. When Ash’s mother died, they had sex, and I was like, “Whoa!? Where did it come from? They’re supposed to mourn.</spoiler>
In spite of those unbelievable events, the few last chapters of the book were enjoyable, I’ve learned how cruel the world they live in. I don’t know how the second book will be but I’ll definitely read it. I hope it’ll be better and slower this time to give readers the time to digest the contents.

Anyway, if you like Eternity Cure, Warm Bodies and Romeo and Juliet, this book is definitely for you. 🙂

xoxo,

Leave a Reply

