Stacking The Shelves #35

stackingStacking the Shelves is a new meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews, which is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

It felt like I need to give myself an early Christmas gift, so I bought lots of books last Thanksgiving Thursday. 🙂

Here they are:

november_haul

Everbound (Everneath #2) by Brodi Ashton (paperback, Fullybooked)

Aces Up by Lauren Barnholdt (paperback, Fullybooked)

Spirit (Elemental #3) by Brigid Kemmerer (paperback, Fullybooked)

Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1) by Leigh Bardugo (paperback, Fullybooked)

Touched (Sense Thieves #1) by Corrine Jackson (paperback, Fullybooked)

Romeo Redeemed (Juliet Immortal #2) by Stacey Jay (paperback, Fullybooked)

The Fall of Five (Lorien Legacies #4) by Pittacus Lore (paperback, NBS)

Icons (Icons #1) by Margaret Stohl (paperback, gift)

Can you see the book The House of Hades by Rick Riordan at the background? I’ve bought it last October but I wasn’t able to post it here. And I’ve already read it. It’s really great!!! Also, Icons by Margaret Stohl was a gift from my friend Tina, and I forgot to post it here because when she gave it to me, I was kinda inactive in updating my blog. Anyway, I also have lots of ebooks haul, but I’ll post them some other time. 😀

ATTENTION!!!

It’s the last day of my Blogoversary Giveaway, hurry and enter now!!! 😀

Check out the below link to join! 🙂

HAPPY 2ND BLOGOVERSARY GIVEAWAY!!!

blogoversary6

That’s all! :)

How about you? What did you get this week?

Link me up so I can also stop by!

xoxo,

Advertisements

Top Ten Covers I Wish I Could Redesign

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is Top Ten Covers I Wish I Could Redesign;  there are so many book covers that I really love but there are also ones that seem off for me.

redesign

  1. Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1) by Richelle Mead – I’ve been seeing this in most of the posts, and I agree. I just don’t understand the cover at all, there’s no art, they are just two people, doing nothing. LOL!
  2. The Dark Divine (The Dark Divine #1 by Bree Despain – I think those feet don’t match the story of the book, right?
  3. Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful #1) by Jamie McGuire – This cover confuses me a lot and I keep on staring at it for a long time. I don’t get it at all. I think the original cover, the butterfly inside a jar is much better.
  4. The Host (The Host #1) by Stephenie Meyer – The eye says it all. But the angle and the color of the face are definitely off. I think a full face would do, with a different one eye.
  5. The Madman’s Daughter (The Madman’s Daughter #1) by Megan Shepherd – I really do want to read this one but the cover scares me, it is creepy for me. The sepia effect should be changed, I guess.
  6. The Madness Underneath (Shades of London #2) by Maureen Johnson – This one is also included in those list of redesigned book covers after the first book.
  7. Requiem (Delirium #3) by Lauren Oliver – The covers of the Delirium series are gorgeous but I prefer the original cover of the first book, the one with the title only in a bluish green background. In this set, that cover is really creepy, the girl seems angry or something.
  8. Return to Paradise (Leaving Paradise #2) by Simone Elkeles – Definitely not a good edited cover. The girl and the boy are a bit graphic, they look like painted ones.
  9. Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi – I love the book and this cover is a good representation of Juliette. But of course, the new cover design that contains the eye is more creative.
  10. This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers – this is one of those covers that I don’t understand. LOL! I mean, what is the connection of the hair with the zombies??

 

Hi everyone, I’m also currently hosting a fabulous giveaway since it is my blog’s second birthday! Please celebrate with me and join in my giveaway: HAPPY 2ND BLOGOVERSARY GIVEAWAY!!!

blogoversary6

xoxo,

HAPPY 2ND BLOGOVERSARY GIVEAWAY!!!

blogoversary6Hi to my fellow friends, bloggers and followers!!! ♥♥♥

November 16 will be my second blog birthday and I’d like to celebrate it with a fabulous giveaway!

There will be TWO winners, yes, that’s right! The first winner will get to win one paperback from the Book Depository and 5 eBooks in your preferred format (.epub, .mobi, etc). The second winner will get to win 5 eBooks only, sorry no paperback. 🙂

For the paperback prize, you can choose from the following list:

2013faves

These are my favorite books released this year. I hope you don’t mind my choice of books, I know I’m a bit weird sometimes, but they’re definitely my favorites. You can check out this blog for more reviews about them. 😉

For the eBook prize, the winners will choose between these two sets:

Set A: YA/Contemporary/NA eBooks

contemp

Set B: Installments in a Series (2nd, 3rd, or 4th book in a series)

series

The two winners will choose if they want set A or set B. 🙂

USE THIS RAFFLECOPTER TO ENTER:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Please remember this giveaway details:

1. Contest is open INTERNATIONALLY provided that the Book Depository delivers to your country.

2. Contest starts today and ends on December 2, 2013.

3. Participants must be 13 years old or above and only one entry per person please.

4. The winner will be chosen via Random Number Generator and will be announced here on November 30.

5. He/she will receive an email and will be given 48 hours to respond or else a new winner will be chosen.

GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE!

xoxo,

Breathe (Breathe #1) by Sarah Crossan: Book Review

breatheTitle: Breathe (Breathe #1)

Author: Sarah Crossan

Started Date:  November 4, 2013

Finished Date:  November 4, 2013

Rating: 5/5 stars

 

Summary from Goodreads:

“The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can’t? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan’s gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.

Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina’s a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn’s a Premium who’s never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who’s never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything. Sarah Crossan’s thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time.”

MY THOUGHTS.

Incredible. It is truly amazing! I love it!

I started this book hours ago and I got hooked. I finished it one sitting and all I can say is it’s a worth read, definitely a good dystopian one.

A world without air would definitely suck, right? I love trees, I studied them when I was in college and imagining a world without them is a horror. I love how the book made us realize that it’s possible to happen and it tells us to be protective of the nature. I love all the characters – Quinn, Bea and Alina. I think it is quite hard to write in three different point of views and it is also hard to read, but this one is not. They are easy to distinguish from each other. I love how the story went on, from knowing the characters first, knowing the world they’re living and how they wanted to be free…

Free to breathe.

I’m looking forward to the next one. 😉

 

xoxo,